A Spiritual and Physical Guide to the Chakras

Written by Laura J Hall.

“Each of the seven chakras are governed by spiritual laws, principles of consciousness that we can use to cultivate greater harmony, happiness, and wellbeing in our live and in the world.” –Deepak Chopra

This article is intended to provide a Spiritual and Physical Guide to the Chakras.

What are Chakras and what do they do for us?

Ancient traditions have been careful to pass “chakraology” from generation to generation. The “chakra system” has been around for centuries, estimating in the ancient texts called the Vedas between 1500 to 500 BC. Other scholars think the origin is much earlier but due to the nature of oral tradition it is difficult to identify how old or know the exact origin of the how the chakra system actually began.

There are many definitions of “chakra”, but they all evolve from the Sanskrit meaning of the word: “wheel of light”. Chakras are thought to be circular or conical in shape. Many authorities agree that chakras are subtle energy centers that are located at the main branchings of the nervous system.

Think of them as energetic vortexes that reside in our body that are responsible for the flow of subtle energies through specific energy channels to affect the body at the cellular level, as reflected by hormonal and physiological levels in the physical body. For example, the crown chakra represents spiritual wisdom and empathy, while the root chakra represents family and abundance.

The 7 Physical Chakras and their Spiritual Roles

Some say that there are well over 114 chakra energy systems. For the purpose of this article and future articles on each of the main chakra systems, we will explore the 7 main chakras. Each of seven chakras all have their own unique meaning and are affiliated with: an aspect of consciousness or a major theme; a color; an element; a sound; a lotus flower with differing number of petals; and interactions with the physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual aspects of being human.

Each chakra is frequently associated with a particular gland of the endocrine system and nervous system. The goal is to balance each of them through the chosen healing modality, leading to overall enhanced health and alignment. Each chakra corresponds to a particular organ and has a specific meaning.

Guide To the Chakra System – Physical and Spiritual

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Red & located at the base of the spine representing grounding, security, survival, instincts, stability, kundalini.

Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana)

Orange and Pelvis area representing pleasure, creativity, emotions, physical energy, sexuality and reproduction.

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

Yellow 2” above navel and represents self-worth, identity, willpower, ego, goals, success, empowerment. 

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

Green/Pink Center of Chest. Represents love, compassion, relationships, trust, forgiveness, healing, respect and gratitude.

Throat Chakra (Vishudddha)

Blue Throat. Represents communication, truth, expression, speaking, listening and independence.

Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

Indigo, between the brows. Represents intuition, dreams, spirituality, psychic abilities, vision, wisdom and imagination.

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Violet/White/Top of head. Represents enlightenment, unity, infinity, transcendence, source.  

The idea is that when these chakras are balanced and energy flows freely through them, an individual experiences physical, mental and emotional well-being.  

When we experience physical, emotions, mental, or energetic stress or trauma, any one of our chakra energy centers can become imbalanced or depleted, compromising the full spectrum functioning of our energy system.  

At Quantum Restorative Healing, our vibrational healing sessions are designed with the intention to IGNITE YOUR light and bring your physical body and your energy body back into balance. The end result creates optimal functioning allowing you to radiate your full spectrum of light.